Salon Day

Like I said before, I wanted to start the new year off right by getting my hair cut, but I didn’t want to do it myself (too scared at the moment). So I went to the the salon for the first time in…8 months. It was a pretty good experience. Now that I’m on hair journey, I notice so much more about what’s going on with my hair, what’s being done to it, and how I feel about everything.

Here are the results(which I love):

And my Official Length Check:

Right Side

Left Side

As you can see, I’m a tiny bit past shoulder length.  Hopefully, I’ll be halfway to APL by the time my 6 month stretch is done.

Cons of the visit:
Nothing too bad happened, I just had a lot of cringe moments. She didn’t use a wide tooth comb to detangle. And didn’t use a heat protectant. That’s it basically.

Pros of the visit:
My stylist is great at trimming hair. She never suggests cutting more off, and when I said cut instead of trim, she gave me a look like “Are you crazy?”.  She never likes to cut off hair, which is a great plus. I know a lot of people always think stylists are scissor happy, but I think you just need to find a good one that you trust. I like getting my trims form her because they are always uniform, and she trims off the tiniest hairs possible, always examining, and double examining the piece she’s cutting to make sure it’s right. It takes her about 20-30 minutes to trim my hair in total, but I say take all the time you need to make sure everything is done right.

I also got a treatment there. It was a spur of the moment thing, and she said there was a coupon I could use, so it ended up being free. How could I pass that up?  It was a regular deep condition under a cap and dryer, but whatever she used really helped. I looked at the bottle and it was something by Affirm. I’m going to have to look it up and figure out everything she used today.  I figured out it was the Affirm FiberGuard Sustenance Fortifying Treatment.   Judging by the name, it was a protein deep treatment.  I also looked up a lot of the other products used, and it seems like they were mainly protein.   She used the Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Special Shampoo, and a Redken conditioner that I’m still not sure about.  Either way, I guess I was in desperate need of it.  I’m counting this visit as my protein treatment of the month.

My hair finally feels healthy. I guess I was so obsessed with my ends, I wasn’t able to see if my hair was really healthy or not. Or maybe it was my ends screwing my up. Either way, my stylist (her name is Tammy by the way), complimented me on it (which is a huge change. She used to reprimand me whenever I came in because I treated it so horribly). Anywho, overall I’m pleased with the visit, and I even learned a few things.

I will be going again when I’m back home in May for a relaxer. I’m going to try as hard as possible to baby these ends so that I wont need another trim. I can’t wait 🙂

Happy Hair Journey,
Gemma ♥

6 Responses to “Salon Day”


  1. 1 Ms.D January 5, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Your hair looks great…and healthy! Keep up the good work!

  2. 3 fancyflairlady (Kim) January 18, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Your hair is gorgeous. The stylist did a really good job with your hair (and the cut). Best of luck to you on your next stretch!

  3. 5 EbonyCPrincess February 2, 2012 at 6:32 am

    Your hair is so pretty and healthy! I was just stopping by to see how the challenge has been going for you so far, didn’t remember seeing an update from you on the official check in. Hoping all is well!


Leave a Reply

Hair Updates

Wearing my hair: buns

Last Relaxer: October 26, 2012

Next Relaxer: February 2012

Last Trim: June 17, 2012

Length Goal: Full Armpit length

Last purchase: Organix Nourishing Coconut Milk Shampoo, Dove Damage Therapy Cool Moisture Conditioner

Wishlist: Flexirod Set, Hairveda Whipped Creme Ends Hydration Leave-In & Moisturizer, Luscious Balanced Cream Moisturizer C.C., more miscellaneous oils, more DC

Loving: Dabur Vatika Coconut Oil Experimenting with: Sulfate-free Shampoo, using conditioner as a moisturizer

Challenges:

Twitter

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


